Councils, Committees & Commissions

Pastoral Council
The St. Mary Cathedral Pastoral Council is a community of servant leaders involved in advisory decisions made through a process of spiritual formation, prayful discernment, and consultative dialogue regarding matters of pastoral concern.  The Pastoral Council shall consider how the mission of the church can best be carried out by the parish and promote the essential ministries of the parish: proclaiming the Word, building up the body of Christ, serving those in need, and celebrating liturgy.  Members shall be chosen through a process of Biblical Selection and shall serve for a three year term.  

The mission of the Parish Pastoral Council (PPC) is to help identify, shape, communicate and sustain the overall vision, objectives, and policy of the Parish as inspired by the Holy Spirit, communicated by the Parish Pastor with input and guidance solicited from the council members.

The purpose of the PPC is to provide advice and consultation to the Pastor, and the other Councils and Commissions: Finance Council (FC), Stewardship Council (SC), School Advisory Council (SAC), Worship Commission, and all other committees and commissions contained therein.  The Pastoral Council is the primary consultative arm to the Pastor concerning all facets of parish life.

Pastoral Council Members:

Ron Borowiak
Fr. Matthew Wigton
Fr. Mitchel Roman
Brandie Meisner
Cecelia Callaghan
Vickie Looker
Kelly Korson
Ron Korson

Interested in serving on the
Pastoral Council?

Contact the parish office (989) 732-5448.

Finance Council
The St. Mary Cathedral Finance Council is a select group of parishioners known for their spiritual maturity and love of Christ and the Church.  Endowed with special competence in financial and business matters and of prudent judgment, members of the Finance Council offer their time and talents in Christian service to assist the pastor with the development and management of the parish's financial resources so that the parish may effectively pursue its proper mission of spreading Christ's Gospel and love. 

The Finance Council, as a consultative body, provides the pastor with information and suggestions which enable him to make proper decisions for the administration of the parish and school’s temporalities, goods and finances and considers all matters of major financial concern. Policy is carefully discerned by the Finance Council together with the parish Pastoral Council and pastor in accordance with the regulations of Canon Law and the Guidelines of the Diocese of Gaylord.  Members of the Finance Council are appointed by the Pastor and shall serve for a three year term.
Finance Council Members:

Jim Myler (chair)
Buzz DeHooghe
Tony Dombrowski
Don Sklarczyk
Cherie Nutter
Jerry Belanger (non-voting)
Melissa Switalski (non-voting)
Fr. Matthew Wigton
Fr. Mitchel Roman

Interested in serving on the
Finance Council?

Contact the parish office (989) 732-5448.

Worship Commission
The St. Mary Cathedral Worship Commission serves the parish primarily by providing the pastor and the councils with consultation and resources in the areas of liturgy, RCIA, environment and art, music and the sacraments. To accomplish this goal, the Commission engages in on-going self-education and collaborates with the diocesan Office of Worship.

Worship Commission Members:

Dr. Wayne Wyrembelski
Jean Rooyakker
Bernice Holborn
Ami Peterson
Kathy Franckowiak
Carol Mrozek
Michelle Engel
Kathi Kelly
Mary Woycik


Jerry Belanger, George Mertz, Rob Pallarito, Kristen Payton, Adam Korson, Christie Perdue

Non-voting ex-officio members include Pastor, School Principal, and other staff. 

Seeking to be guided by the Holy Spirit, the members of the School Advisory Council are charged with assisting to ensure that the School is providing a high quality education within the context of a faithful Catholic environment.  The School Advisory Council, together with the Principal and subject to the approval of the Pastor and the Parish Pastoral Council, will recommend goals and objectives for the School. 

The School Advisory Council has established the following standing committees:

  • Catholic Identity, Faith Formation and Religious Education
  • Development, Alumni Relations, Marketing, and Communication
  • Academic Enhancement, Student Achievement and Curriculum
  • Finance, Budget, Enrollment and Grant Writing
  • Maintenance, Building and Grounds
  • Athletics

The School Advisory Council is a natural outgrowth of the sense of Church as the People of God that has always been part of the Catholic tradition, especially since the Second Vatican Council.  The creation of the SAC reflects an abiding faith in the royal priesthood (1 Peter 2) which is inherent in all of the baptized People of God.  Clergy, religious, and laity must work in consort and collaboratively to build up the Kingdom of God in the parish and school.

Building and Grounds Committee
The Building and Grounds Committee is entrusted with preserving all parish properties, including the church, and related grounds.  The mission of the Building and Grounds Committee is three fold: to be responsive to the daily maintenance requirements of all parish properties, to develop a comprehensive planning process for anticipated maintenance requirements and long term growth, and to establish a fiscally responsible plan that gives consideration to facilities, equipment, and personnel (both paid and disciple) with projects and timing appropriately prioritized.

Cemetery Committee
The cemetery committee shall act in an advisory capacity to the pastor/parish director for cemetery matters.  Members should be practicing Catholics and active members of the parish.  They should be informed, involved and concerned about the operation of the parish cemeteries.